/

 

The manual

Self-training

Experimentation

Contact

 

Language

User accounts and groups

The different means of authentication in Storga

A user can use three methods to authenticate in Storga:

A 'magic' web link that automatically authenticates it.
This is a practical method, but very weak from a security point of view.

A password to be provided via your web browser.
This is the standard method on the web, with a fairly low level of security because users tend to choose weak passwords and use the same password on different sites.

A cryptographic key and a password that allow authentication using the native Storga client, or the free software Pliant.
This is a recommended level of security because to be usable, this system supposes having both the password and the corresponding key.

The 'Installation' table in the user file allows you to select the authentication modes that will be offered in the invitation email.

Manual user and group configuration interface

Only an administrator user of the Storga site can manage users and user groups. An administrator user of the Storga server can manage the users and groups of all the Storga sites stored on that server.

To configure the users and groups, use the 'Configure' mode
then refer to the 'Users' and 'User groups' paragraphs  

When you have defined the parameters of a new user, in particular their email address, you can use the button 'Generate a native client download URL', then the button 'Send an invitation email' to send them an email which will allow him to choose his password, then download the native Storga client to install on his machine.
The native Storga client is delivered as an archive (ZIP file on Windows, TGZ on Unix or OSX) which only needs to be unarchived anywhere on the disk. The archive contains the user's configuration, so there is no need to configure it after extraction.

Perform the same operation when a user loses their password.

It may be a good idea to disable download URLs after setting up the new user account.

In Storga, there are currently no functions to delete a user.
To deny access to a user, all you have to do is change their password for web access, then revoke their public key corresponding to secure access via the native Storga client.
Another recommended way to do this is to simply remove the users from the different groups.

By program

- to complete -

Go further

Quick reinstallation of a client workstation