/

 

The manual

Self-training

Experimentation

Contact

 

Language

Understanding synchronization

This only concerns workstations with the native Storga client with local site replication.

Synchronization to the server (apply to the shared version the changes you make, or have done offline) is fully automatic.

Synchronization from the server (apply modifcations made by other users to the local version) is semi-automatic. It can be completely deactivated by accessing the station configuration page (see icon opposite) to modify the 'Synchronization mode' field.

Synchronization from the server is only semi-automatic for two reasons:

It can concern very large volumes of data (all modifications made by all other users)

The client workstation does not necessarily have enough storage capacity to replicate the entire site.

'semi automatic' is understood as follows. Regularly, the local station contacts the server, and asks him: what has changed recently? and it downloads the corresponding changes.
This means that the station will not necessarily download what had been stored a long time ago, before the local station was put into service, and that if it does not connect for a long time, the server will only notify it of the changes. more recent.

On the local computer, in 'View' mode, there is therefore an icon (see opposite) which allows you to force synchronization from the server of part of the site.

Just sync this page

Only request synchronization of the current page.

Synchronize all sub pages

Guess :-)

Synchronize the whole site

Requires synchronization of the whole site, from the root, and also of all the additional elements of the site, such as styles.

Synchronize all sub pages and repair

In some cases, client workstations can corrupt their data on disks: program crash, disk problem, etc.
This function will not only retrieve the changes made on the server side as before, but also verify all the integrity of the local data.